Nominees, Performers, Unveiled For 20...
Home  »  Community News  »  Nominees, Performers...
Nominees, Performers, Unveiled For 2017 Canadian Radio Music Awards
Net News 0  

TORONTO – Canadian musical acts The Strumbellas, Alessia Cara, Ruth B, and Justin Bieber lead in nominations for the 20th annual Canadian Radio Music Awards (CRMA) which this year will be handed out April 19 at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel.

The Canadian Radio Music Awards will also spotlight first-time charting artists who have also achieved top airplay in different formats based on radio “spins”, as recorded by Nielsen Broadcast Data Systems in 2016. Votes cast by program directors, music directors, and on-air personalities determine the winners, and the CRMA ceremony will feature performances by newcomers Bleeker, James Barker Band, Jonathan Roy, Modern Space, Ruth B, and The Washboard Union.

This year’s CRMA awards categories include: Hot AC, Mainstream AC, Mainstream Rock, Modern Rock, Contemporary Hit Radio, Dance/Urban/Rhythmic, and Country as well as the SOCAN Song of the Year and Fans’ Choice. The full list of nominees is available here.

In addition, the late Gary Russell will be inducted into the Allan Waters Broadcast Hall of Fame at the CRMAs. A well-respected radio broadcaster who began his career on air before his work in programming and management, Russell held positions at radio stations from Ottawa to Vancouver over his 40 year career, and in 2008 was inducted into the Canadian Association of Broadcasters’ Hall of Fame.

Canadian Music Week 2017 will take place from April 18 – 22 in Toronto.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.